Commissioners are district level and council level leaders who help maintain the standards of the Boy Scouts of America. They help Scout units succeed by coaching and consulting with adult leaders of Units. Additionally, commissioners oversee the unit charter renewal plan so that each unit re-registers on time with an optimum number of youth and adult members.

This is the highest recognition that can be given to a commissioner.    It recognizes an individual who has consistently engaged in distinguished and exceptional commissioner service resulting in a significant, positive impact on youth, units, and a district and/or council.  This recognition is awarded following a successful nomination by an individual other than the recipient.

Contact Information for the BAC Commissioner's Cabinet
Council Commissioner

Service Area Commissioners
Assistant Council Commissioners
District Commissioners

For information about the requirements as well as the nomination form, click here

All nominations are confidential, as is any feedback regarding a nomination.  Nominees should not be made aware of their nomination to avoid possible disappointment in the event they are not selected.

BSA's National Site for Commissioners

The awards and recognition available to commissioners in the BSA were updated in May of 2016.  The following commissioners in the Baltimore Area Council have received this award under the national criteria issued at that time:

What does a Commissioner do?  Job Descriptions

Helpful information for Internet Rechartering

Moe Brown – 2022; Hopkins District

Carl Drew – 2022; The Capitol District

Chip Galloway – 2022; National Pike District

Charley Jay – 2021; Arrowhead District

John Heuchan – 2020; Chesapeake District

Mark Mulligan – 2019; Capitol District

John Gillette – 2018; Harford District

Michael Shelton – 2018; Carroll District

Burt Sklar – 2018; Dulaney District


Baltimore Area Council
2022 Commissioners Conference

Saturday, November 12, 2022

See the latest information at:


Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Flicker LinkedIn

Baltimore Area Council

701 Wyman Park | Baltimore MD | 21211
(443) 573-2500

Broad Creek Memorial Scout Reservation
1929 Susquehanna Hall Road | Whiteford, MD | 21160


 Schapiro Scout Service Center (Council headquarters)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

© 2019 Baltimore Area Council, Boy Scouts of America. All rights reserved.